Can You Hear That?

So no one told you life was going to be this way.

Your job’s a joke, you’re broke, and you’re love life’s DOA.

It’s like you’re always stuck in second gear,

Well, it hasn’t been your day, your week, your month, or even your year.

But, I’ll be there for you, when the rain starts to pour.

I’ll be there for you, like I’ve been there before.

I’ll be there for you, cause you’re there for me too.

You’re still in bed at ten, the work began at eight.

You’ve burned your breakfast, so far, things are going great.

Your mother warned you there’d be days like these,

But she didn’t tell you when the world has brought you down to your knees.

That, I’ll be there for you, when the rain starts to pour.

I’ll be there for you, like I’ve been there before.

I’ll be there for you, cause you’re there for me too.

No one could ever know me, no one could ever see me.

Seems like you’re the only one who knows what it’s like to be me.

Someone to face the day with, make it through all the rest with,

Someone I’ll always laugh with, even at my worst, I’m best with you.

It’s like you’re always stuck in second gear,

Well, it hasn’t been your day, your week, your month, or even your year.

But, I’ll be there for you, when the rain starts to pour.

I’ll be there for you, like I’ve been there before.

I’ll be there for you, cause you’re there for me too.

I received the entire Friends series on DVD as a gift for Christmas… and I cannot stop watching.  Even though I have homework to get done and an exhibition to prep for, I continuously watch episode after episode.  And even as I watch my DVDs, I find myself searching for blooper clips on YouTube.

I hear The Vampire Diaries echoing up to my room as my brother watches his recording downstairs, VERY loudly I might add.  And then I hear him practically stomping up the stairs (which he swears is just the regular way he walks up stairs) to come into my room and remind me that pitchers and catchers report for Spring Training in 11 days.  I hear my printer going crazy as I print out the 50 pages (yes, I said 50!) of images I have to know for my Art History exam in two weeks… And that is with 4 images per page!  I hear the clicking of my laptop mouse as I scroll over the hundreds of posts on my Pinterest homepage, another one of my brilliant procrastination techniques that comes back to bite me in the ass.  I hear Becky continuously reminding me that our senior show is in less than 20 days… TIME TO FREAK OUT! 

Lately everything goes back to the show.  The last milestone I have to conquer before I can graduate in May.  Like I said, TIME TO FREAK OUT!  I am going to be so incredibly relieved after February 22 when I am completely done with this show.

Beyond Here Lies

5 thoughts on “Can You Hear That?

  1. OMG your senior exhibition poster looks so great! our group was being poopy and nobody would agree on anything so our poster looks like an elementary school poster. o wells. Also, i miss Friends :[ major nostalgia right here!

    • Thanks! I’m not a huge fan of it, but the show is only up for a week so I guess I’ll have to deal with it. I miss Friends too! So glad they have episodes on TV and that I have them on DVD… but now I seriously am procrastinating soooo much! It’s awful because I have so much to get done! Haha.

  2. I love Friends!! And that theme song gets me every time! I have to watch it after I hear that!! My friends and I are planning on doing a reenactment of the opening scene- splashing around in the MU fountain in our caps and gowns sometime before graduation! That’s so awesome you got the DVD set, I can only imagine all the procrastination that would lead to for me, too!

    • Same here! That song gets stuck in my head every time too! Oh that will be awesome! You have to post a video of that on your blog after you do it! And you have to sit on the couch and turn off the light at the end! Seriously! It won’t be so bad after my Senior Exhibition but it’s not helping me get stuff done until then!

  3. I know about being hooked on a DVD box set. My girlfriend and I have been watching all the Tru Blood episodes. We are currently on season 3. I really didn’t want to watch it (associations with Twilight came to mind), but it turned out to be pretty cool. Now I don’t get anything done.

Leave a Reply

