Lately I Cannot Get Enough…

TIME.

First of all, let me put it out there: I am a procrastinator.  But in this case, my procrastination habits are not a factor.

I could start by rewinding back to winter break… Which I have to remind everyone that goes to ASU and inform everyone that does not – last year the university cut the winter break from one month down to TWO weeks.  Factoring in Christmas and New Years, time that most people spend with their families, there is hardly any time at all left for having an actual break from school.  Both last year and this year, my winter break felt more like an extremely long nap rather than the actual two-week break it was supposed to be.

Since returning for my last semester of school, time is still my enemy.

My Senior Exhibition is about a month into the semester.  You would think this is enough time to prepare, but with the homework, projects, and tests flying in from the four other classes I am taking (plus work from the Exhibitions/Portfolio class), I can hardly find the time to finalize everything.  Even when I schedule in time to finish some of these details, something for another class comes up and I have to rush off to do that.  Thankfully, after this weekend I will have my prints and frames completed – which only leaves my artist statement, thank you list, shopping for opening night reception, and installation.  Did I say only?  HA!

But now I have a question for all of you reading this… Do you ever get the feeling that when you have a big event or assignment due, the universe seems to throw EVERYTHING else in at that same time?

I sure do.  My installation weekend and opening reception have been set since before the semester began, but since then they’re not the only things I’ve got on my plate those two weeks.  Let’s throw on 7 self portraits for my watercolor class… And an Art History exam… And a Photogravure final print.

To add to all the school assignments I’ve got, my refrigerator decided to suddenly stop working properly a few days ago. Right after my brother and I bought a bunch of new groceries, I might add. So, I’ve spent all day sitting around my house waiting for the Geek Squad from Best Buy to come repair it.  Plus I’ve been waiting for our A/C repair company to come check out our system.  Even after the 12 – 4pm time slot Best Buy gave us, they did not show up and my fridge is still broken.  But that’s another story, a very long and VERY frustrating story. 

As you can see from the countdown on my blog, time until I graduate is also ticking away… 2 months!  Time to: apply for graduation, find a job, and start packing up my belongings to cart back to California.

Leave a Reply

