Networking

The summer after my freshman year of college I began working in production.  Often times people don’t understand exactly what I mean when I tell them I work in production, so let me break it down for y’all.  I work in the talent department for award shows, such as Guys Choice Awards and Teen Choice Awards.  The job entails booking talent (actors & actresses, singers, comedians, etc.) for presenting or accepting awards in these shows.  There is a lot more that goes on behind the scenes, but I won’t bore y’all with all the job-specific details.

Many of the publicists, managers, agents, talent, and co-workers I have come to know and talk to on a regular basis I have met through networking.  In the beginning, my boss introduced me to people she had previously worked with.  This allowed me to meet many other people working in my field, as well as talent representatives that I would soon be emailing and playing phone tag with every day.  Throughout the three summers that I have been working in production, I have been introduced to even more co-workers, talent reps, and talent, in addition to assistants and security personnel.  After I graduate in May I am hoping to continue working in production and continue to expand my connections with others in the field.

On the student side of things, the easiest way to network myself is through friends.  I have met many friends (both photo majors and non-photo majors) in my classes and we often discuss each other’s artwork, which leads to pictures and invitations to BFA Exhibitions, etc.

Although I prefer networking face to face (or via email & phone for work), it doesn’t mean I don’t network over social media websites.  I definitely use Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, and LinkedIn to stay in touch with people and update them on my artwork and current projects.  I usually use Facebook for more personal connections, while Twitter and Instagram are used for both personal and work.  My LinkedIn account is dedicated solely to connections made through work, or more formal acquaintances regarding my artwork. I connect with well-known people in fields I work in or am just interested in (baseball, for example) via Twitter quite often, and I use LinkedIn to see what shows my past and future co-workers are currently working on.

Networking Pic

8 thoughts on “Networking

  1. Sounds like you have a lot of fun in production! I agree with you that I’d rather network in person face to face, but social media makes it so easy that you just can’t pass it up. Good job doing both!

  2. Ah! I just have to say (for the sake of networking(; well Not just for the sake of networking but I thought I would try to make a joke since i’m leaving this on your networking post. I absolutely love the name of your blog! It is so clever! I just love it!(:

    • Haha don’t worry, I tried to make a joke the other day on a blog and it didn’t even come off as funny after I read it back to myself. Thanks!! I love yours too!

  3. I think that it is so cool that you have a grown up job already. I love working on pre production and production for films so I wonder if this is anything similar with planning the awards shows, it sure seems that way.

    • Thanks! I am really hoping I can continue working in it after I graduate. I think it is! I had declared a Film & Media Productions minor (which I unfortunately had to drop because I wouldn’t have been able to finish in time for graduation) and one of my Intro classes discussed the entire production process for movies. That class was pretty easy at some points because the material had a lot (and I mean A LOT) in common with my work.

  4. That’s awesome! I just started working in production and man is it a lot of work. What your doing is something I am interested in and I was wondering if you could give me some information on where to get a job or internship in this specific field. I’m graduating this semester and I am doing everything I can to find the right internship out of college. Any insight or information would be greatly appreciated 🙂 This was a great post, though it makes me feel like I have a lot of work to do as far as keeping up with my social media, I can barely keep up with one!

    • It definitely is a lot of work, especially when it gets closer to show day. I’ve been working for Bain Sills Productions, a company based out of Santa Monica, California. If you’re truly interested in working in production, I would suggest moving to LA or NY. Those are two of the big places people work in. You can probably find a bunch of other production companies in LA if you search online, and maybe start talking with them now about doing an internship after graduation. Who knows, it might turn into a job! Oh trust me, keeping up with social media definitely keeps me busy! But especially working in production has allowed me to meet a lot of people via networking.

Leave a Reply

